3 Categories Of Water Damage

water damage company moorestownWater damage is one of the most common causes of damage to a property, whether residential or commercial. When experiencing this damage, you must act fast to minimize the amount of damage that inflicts that property. The first step in understanding how to take care of water damage is to distinguish the different categories of water damage. 

Water Damage Company – Moorestown

The different categories of water damage refer to the source of the water and the level of contamination. The cleanliness of the water can determine the risks that are associated with coming in contact with it. Although they are no longer official designations, many still refer to those categories as Clean, Grey, and Black Water. Those terms can be helpful when trying to remember the cleanliness level of each category.

Category 1 – Clean Water

The first category of water damage is known as “clean water” damage. It is defined as water that originates from a clean water source and does not pose any threat when a person is exposed to it. It is free of contaminants and sewage. The source of Category 1 water damage includes water supply lines, melted snow, toilet tanks, clean toilet bowls without contaminants or sewage, and rainwater. Typically, any damage that has been done by this type of water can be cleaned and restored. 

Category 2 – Grey Water

This second category of water damage is often called “grey water”. It is water damage that is significantly contaminated and has the potential to cause sickness or harm to those who come in contact with it. It usually contains harmful bacterial contaminants, grease, or residues of detergents. Examples of grey water include dishwasher or washing machine overflow/discharge, broken aquariums, punctured water beds, and overflowed toilet bowls that contain urine. Homes that are afflicted by category 2 water damage must remove any items affected and disinfect the home since it can cause more damage in the future. 

Category 3 – Black Water

This is the final and most dangerous category of water damage there is. It is considered grossly contaminated and can contain extremely dangerous agents that can cause serious health problems to anyone who comes in contact with it. Black water includes sewage, rising flood waters, seawater, as well as river and groundwater. Unfortunately, homes that are impacted by this type of will result the removal of many items in your home. Professionals will have to replace flooring, insulation, carpet, drywall, and more to keep contamination away from you. The home will also need to undergo significant disinfection to safely reenter the area. 

Professional Help

It’s important to note that even if you have Category 1 water damage in your home, it can quickly deteriorate to Category 2 and 3 if ignored or mishandled. Category 1 water damage will begin to deteriorate mainly because of coming in contact with mold, which can begin to grow within 24 hours. Contacting professionals at Doctor Fix-It to help you properly deal with the situation is imperative, as they can ensure that the water damage is fully taken care of.